Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap
Self-Help Credit Union

Our Leadership

Martin Eakes is co-founder and CEO of Self-Help and the Center for Responsible Lending. Mr. Eakes holds a law degree from Yale, a master’s from the Woodrow Wilson School of Public Affairs at Princeton, and a bachelor’s degree from Davidson College. A native of North Carolina, he is a nationally recognized expert on development finance and has been honored by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation as a MacArthur Fellow for his work.

In 2009, his commitment to responsible lending was honored by the Opportunity Finance Network, which presented him with the Ned Gramlich Lifetime Achievement Award for Responsible Lending. Other awards include the Credit Union National Association Wegner Award, National Consumer Law Center’s Father Robert F. Drinan Leadership Award, and the Annie E. Casey Foundation National Families Count Award. A leader in U.S. community development finance and policy, Martin currently serves on the Ford Foundation Board of Trustees, the Bank of America National Community Advisory Council.

Steve Zuckerman is President of Self-Help Federal Credit Union, and also oversees all Self-Help’s operations in California. After working for Self-Help several years after its founding in 1980, and serving on its board for most of the next 20 years, Steve rejoined Self-Help in 2006 to launch its California efforts in Oakland and led the formation and growth of Self-Help Federal Credit Union.

Steve’s other work experience includes almost 15 years with McCown De Leeuw & Co, a private investment firm and with Bain & Company. He currently serves on the boards of Tides Foundation and Positive Coaching Alliance, as well as the New Market Tax Credit advisory board of Opportunity Fund.

Sarah Brennan is Senior Vice President, managing Self-Help’s market presence in Southern California, and overseeing branch operations in Los Angeles and San Diego. Sarah joined Self-Help Federal in 2013 and previously served the credit union as Business Development Officer and as Vice President and Los Angeles Area Manager. Prior to joining the credit union, Sarah’s professional experience centered on economic development and policy at the local, state, and federal levels, including five years with the city of Los Angeles, and several years as Policy Director to the City of LA’s Seventh Council District.

Veronica Casillas-Madrigal is President, Self-Help Federal Credit Union California Retail, managing all of our California branches and Operations activities. She brings over 25 years of experience in credit union management and operations, having worked in virtually every aspect of operations, and held the position of a Senior Vice President before becoming President.

Randy Chambers is Chief Financial officer for all of Self-Help’s affiliates. Randy has played an instrumental role in the establishment of Self-Help Federal in California and Chicago. He is a former chair of the board of the National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions, the national intermediary for credit unions serving low-income communities. He was co-founder and a long-time board member of Latino Community Credit Union, the first Latino financial institution in North Carolina and an internationally-recognized model for community development finance. Randy has served on various other boards related to community development finance, credit unions, nonprofits and public policy.

Joe Duran is Executive Vice President of Self-Help Federal Credit Union. Joe has played numerous leadership roles since joining Self-Help Federal through merger in 2009 and currently leading strategic growth, external relations and activities tailored to serving immigrant communities. He was directly responsible for building partnerships and organizing our branch launch in Fresno. He has over 30 years of credit union executive management experience, including serving as CEO of Community Trust Credit Union for almost 20 years before recommending to his board that they merge into Self-Help Federal Credit Union. He is nationally recognized as an innovative leader in providing financial services that meet the needs of the emerging Hispanic market, and has received numerous awards, including the Cultural Diversity Award for Individual Work by the California Credit Union League and the Dora Maxwell Award for Social Responsibility by the Dora Maxwell Foundation.

Rodolfo Medina is President of Second Federal, a Division of Self-Help Federal Credit Union, with three branches in the greater Chicago area.  Rudy lived in the Little Village neighborhood as a young child in the 1970’s, where his parents owned and operated a local business. At a young age, the family moved from Chicago to Mexico. At 18, Rudy returned to Chicago and earned a BA from Northeastern Illinois University. Rudy worked for more than 15 years in the financial sector as a retail bank manager before joining Second Federal in 2009 as manager of its branch in Little Village. In 2013, Rudy was recognized by Crain’s Chicago Business Magazine’s “40 under 40” list. His civic engagement includes serving on the board of the Rauner YMCA and San Jose Obrero Mission.

Daryl Newell is President of Seaway, a Division of Self-Help Federal Credit Union, with six branches in greater Chicago and one branch in Milwaukee.  He will manage strategic organizational planning for Self-Help’s development and growth for the Seaway branches.  Daryl will also ensure the division meets member service, lending, operational, and financial performance goals across the Seaway footprint.  Daryl has a long career in banking in the Chicago area.  He previously served as Seaway’s Chief Retail Banking Officer, overseeing operations within the branch network.  Before joining Seaway Bank, Daryl was a Retail Regional Manager at Fifth Third Bank, where he was responsible for operations at 12 banking centers.  He also served as Director of the Consumer Banking Group at Urban Partnership Bank.  

Misun Thompson is Senior Vice President, managing Self-Help’s market presence in the Sacramento, California area, branch operations in Butte County and the North Bay Area, and oversees our Contact Center and Operations Training department. Misun joined Self-Help Federal in 2018. She has extensive experience in the credit union and broader financial services industry, including involvement with branch management, contact centers, collections, data analytics, and project management. Misun also helps drive the use of data analysis in our planning and decision making.  Prior to joining Self-Help Federal, Misun spent almost 19 years with a credit union, serving as SVP Member Services and COO.  

Self-Help Federal Credit Union’s Board of Directors

  • Emilio Huerta - Labor Attorney, and Long-Time Self-Help Federal CU Member (Chair)
  • Raul Raymundo, CEO - The Resurrection Project (Secretary)
  • Carl Rist, Executive Director - 1:1 Fund, Corporation for Enterprise Development (Treasurer)
  • Maggie Cervantes, Executive Director - New Economics for Women (Vice Chair)
  • Martin Eakes, CEO - Self-Help
  • Tanya Branch, CPA
  • Arnold Pugh, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, Retired, and Long-Time Seaway Member

Updated 12/12/18